My Year in Books – 2012

Following are the titles of the books I finished reading in 2012. In addition to these, I am still in the middle of so many books, I’m too embarrassed to give you the number (27.)

As I no longer finish books that aren’t at least very good, I can recommend all of the titles on this list. The ones in blue were the best of the best.

I sincerely love book lists, so if you’ve compiled one for your 2012 books, please direct me there!

Happy New Year, and happy reading.

I am in the middle of reading every book you see here. I can't talk about it right now.

Currently reading. I can’t even talk about it right now.

MEMOIRS

No Regrets, by Apolo Ohno
Decision Points, by George W. Bush
Open, by Andre Agassi
My Life, by Earvin “Magic” Johnson
True Compass, by Edward M. Kennedy
Coop, by Michael Perry
Tender at the Bone, by Ruth Reichl
Bossypants, by Tina Fey
Garlic and Sapphires, by Ruth Reichl
Blood, Bones & Butter, by Gabrielle Hamilton
Losing Mum and Pup, by Christopher Buckley
Beautiful Boy, by David Sheff
Forever Liesl, by Charmian Carr
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, by Jean-Dominique Bauby
My Lucky Life In And Out Of Show Business, by Dick van Dyke
Happy Accidents, by Jane Lynch
Sharing Good Times, by Jimmy Carter
Below Stairs, by Margaret Powell
A Natural Woman, by Carole King
Total Recall, by Arnold Schwarzenegger

FICTION

Tishomingo Blues, by Elmore Leonard
The Beginner’s Goodbye, by Anne Tyler
Room, by Emma Donoghue
Ape House, by Sara Gruen
Jim the Boy, by Tony Earley
The Pleasure of My Company, by Steve Martin
An Object of Beauty, by Steve Martin
The Gunslinger, by Stephen King
The Stand, by Stephen King
The Art of Fielding, by Chad Harbach
Shopgirl, by Steve Martin
The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins
Dear Life, by Alice Munro
Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins

NONFICTION

Physics of the Impossible, by Michio Kaku
Quiet, by Susan Cain
Writing the Memoir, by Judith Barrington
Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell
Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Appetite for Life, The Biography of Julia Child, by Noel Riley Fitch
A Silence of Mockingbirds, by Karen Spears Zacharias
The Big Miss, by Hank Haney
Furious Love, by Sam Kashner & Nancy Schoenberger
The Blind Side, by Michael Lewis
The Obamas, by Jodi Kantor
The War of Art, by Steven Pressfield
In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Year in Books – 2012

  1. I have just seen Dick Van Dyke in the list, he is one of my favourite actors of all time.

  2. Alison D. says:

    Wow, that’s an impressive list of books!

  3. So….do you read in the car, do you read at the bar? Do you read at the table, but only if you’re able? Do you read in your sleep? And does reading make you weep? Do they rhyme in three time or make you pucker like a lime?
    OK-I’ll stop! :-)
    I’m not surprised. But I am highly impressed and, to be honest, a little jealous….

  4. Oh- and I have a list, but you don’t get to see it…

  5. mike duran says:

    Great lists! The War of Art, by Steven Pressfield, is another one of those books I keep hearing about and really need to read.

  6. kammbia1 says:

    That is an interesting list for sure. I read my first Stephen King novel last year and it was on my list of favorite reads for 2012.

    Here’s my list:

    http://kammbia1.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/wisdom-of-kammbia-3-12-marions-2012-book-reviews-year-in-review/

    Marion

  7. I cannot believe (okay, that’s a lie; I believe you) how many books you read! It’s amazing. Today I published my meager little book list and when I refer to some lists as being motivating and intimidating, I was thinking about yours! You have inspired me. Seriously though, how many hours a day do you spend reading?

Leave a Reply

